Various Artists

American Folk-Blues Train: Alan Lomax Field and Studio Recordings

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

American Folk-Blues Train: Alan Lomax Field and Studio Recordings is a three-CD box set that includes rare performances by Big Bill Broonzy, Memphis Slim, Sonny Boy Williamson, Peggy Seeger, John Cole, Guy Carawan, and several others. Each disc is broken up into themes, American Song Train, Vol. 1, Murderers' Home (recorded at Parchman prison farm), and Blues in the Mississippi Night. The latter disc is an amazing session from 1946 that includes Memphis Slim, Big Bill Broonzy, and Sonny Boy Williamson playing music and reminiscing about horrific experiences that came along with living under white rule in the South. Murders and beatings of innocent people committed by racists are discussed openly but somewhat hesitantly. Blues in the Mississippi Night went unreleased for several years, as both the artists and Lomax were concerned about reprisals. Every blues fan should have this disc, and for that matter this box set. It combines the early history of the music and the brutal conditions under which it developed.

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:26
2 2:28
3 2:21
4 3:34
5 2:49
6 2:54
7 1:35
8 3:31
9 2:21
10 1:53
11 2:29
12 2:40
13 5:40
14 3:48
15 3:15
blue highlight denotes track pick