Roy Rogers

Along the Navajo Trail 1945-1947

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Encompassing original recordings from 1945-1947, Along the Navajo Trail is a pleasant Roy Rogers diversion for the casual fan. Kicking off with the jaunty canter of "Yellow Rose of Texas," this set continues through 21 Rogers classics, near-classics, and more general material that nevertheless features Rogers' trademark croon. "Home in Oklahoma" features some great instrumental trade-offs, the best of which comes between a fiddle and what sounds like an accordion that's been sat upon. "Rock Me to Sleep in My Saddle" is a fabulously clich├ęd cowboy song, even featuring the cloppity-clop of orchestrated horse hoofs. Meanwhile, "My Chickasay Girl" sashays along with Rogers' upbeat phrasing and a saucy Western swing melody. "Make-Believe Cowboy" forms the emotional heart of the album, checking the normal cowboy touchstones with each line but turning them on their ear with the realization that it's all pretend. The song also illustrates the more mournful qualities in Rogers' singing voice. Overall, Along the Navajo Trail is a very satisfying set. It won't be necessary for Roy Rogers aficionados, but, for slick-heeled fans of him, cowboy music, or Western Swing, the collection will be more fun than plate of overland trout.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:37 Amazon
feat: Spade Cooley
03:00 Amazon
feat: Spade Cooley
03:05 Amazon
feat: Spade Cooley
03:10 Amazon
5 03:11 Amazon
03:09 Amazon
7 02:51 Amazon
8 03:03 Amazon
9 02:40 Amazon
10 02:39 Amazon
11 02:50 Amazon
12 03:01 Amazon
13 02:27 Amazon
14 02:56 Amazon
02:31 Amazon
02:29 Amazon
17 02:40 Amazon
18 02:35 Amazon
feat: Spade Cooley
02:47 Amazon
20 02:45 Amazon
21 02:25 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick