Blue Peter

All Through the Night

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Through the new wave era, Blue Peter was around to prove that Canadians were just as capable as anyone of serving up muscular electro-pop. All Through the Night is a sampling of the band's six studio albums, released between 1979 and 1983, and presents a good overview of a band that never really got the wide attention that they deserved outside of one big hit single, "Don't Walk Past." The music is very reminiscent of many of the other acts of the era, including A Flock of Seagulls, Japan, Oingo Boingo, and more, but Paul Humphrey's Bryan Ferry-esque vocals always bring the proceedings a bit more sophistication than many other bands of the era could muster. He sang with a few other projects following the band's end, guitarist Chris Wardman eventually made a name for himself as a producer, and keyboardist Jason Sniderman later became a bigwig at Canadian record retail giant, Sam the Record Man. Maybe this all sounds a tad dated now, but it was good fun at the time.

blue highlight denotes track pick