All Eyez on Me


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

All Eyez on Me Review

by Steve Huey

Maybe it was his time in prison, or maybe it was simply his signing with Suge Knight's Death Row label. Whatever the case, 2Pac re-emerged hardened and hungry with All Eyez on Me, the first double-disc album of original material in hip-hop history. With all the controversy surrounding him, 2Pac seemingly wanted to throw down a monumental epic whose sheer scope would make it an achievement of itself. But more than that, it's also an unabashed embrace of the gangsta lifestyle, backing off the sober self-recognition of Me Against the World. Sure, there are a few reflective numbers and dead-homiez tributes, but they're much more romanticized this time around. All Eyez on Me is 2Pac the thug icon in all his brazen excess, throwing off all self-control and letting it all hang out -- even if some of it would have been better kept to himself. In that sense, it's an accurate depiction of what made him such a volatile and compelling personality, despite some undeniable filler. On the plus side, this is easily the best production he's ever had on record, handled mostly by Johnny J (notably on the smash "How Do U Want It") and Dat Nigga Daz; Dr. Dre also contributes another surefire single in "California Love" (which, unfortunately, is present only as a remix, not the original hit version). Both hits are on the front-loaded first disc, which would be a gangsta classic in itself; other highlights include the anthemic Snoop Dogg duet "2 of Amerikaz Most Wanted," "All About U" (with the required Nate Dogg-sung hook), and "I Ain't Mad at Cha," a tribute to old friends who've gotten off the streets. Despite some good moments, the second disc is slowed by filler and countless guest appearances, plus a few too many thug-lovin' divas crooning their loyalty. Erratic though it may be, All Eyez on Me is nonetheless carried off with the assurance of a legend in his own time, and it stands as 2Pac's magnum opus.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2Pac 04:39 SpotifyAmazon
2 2Pac feat: Nate Dogg / Snoop Dogg / Dru Down / Fatal / Yani Hadati 04:37 SpotifyAmazon
3 2Pac feat: Nate Dogg 04:09 SpotifyAmazon
4 2Pac feat: Dat Nigga Daz / Kurupt / Method Man / Redman 05:13 SpotifyAmazon
5 2Pac feat: K-Ci & JoJo 04:47 SpotifyAmazon
6 2Pac feat: Snoop Dogg 04:07 SpotifyAmazon
7 2Pac 06:14 SpotifyAmazon
8 2Pac 04:43 SpotifyAmazon
9 2Pac 05:02 SpotifyAmazon
10 2Pac feat: Rappin' 4-Tay 04:57 SpotifyAmazon
11 2Pac feat: C-BO / CPO / Outlawz / The Storm 05:29 SpotifyAmazon
12 2Pac feat: Dr. Dre / Roger 06:25 SpotifyAmazon
13 2Pac feat: Danny Boy 04:53 SpotifyAmazon
14 2Pac feat: Danny Boy 05:10 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick