Rinaldo Alessandrini / Concerto Italiano

Alessandro Scarlatti: Magnificat; Dixit Dominus

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Austerely agonized, excruciatingly ecstatic, and vocally virtuosic, this disc joining Alessandro Scarlatti's Dixit Dominus and Magnificat with five secular madrigals incarnates the notion of mannerism in music. Though self-consciously conservative, Scarlatti's music here is so expertly composed and so manifestly deeply felt that its extraordinary emotional intensity transcends style and period. The opening Dixit Dominus is breathtaking in its contrapuntal complexities, the closing Magnificat heartrending in its operatic melodies, and the central madrigals gut-wrenching in their harmonic despair. As performed on this Naïve disc by the five voices and two instruments of the Concerto Italiano led by Rinaldo Alessandrini, these works are still enormously affecting even after three centuries. All five singers are amazing alone; that they could blend voices and bend tempos with such extraordinary taste and musicality is incredibly impressive. Anyone who likes the music of Italian Baroque in general and Scarlatti the elder in particular will enjoy this disc. Recorded in Rome in February 2000, Naïve's digital sound is as real as light, life, and love.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Dixit Dominus (No. 1) (Psalm 109), for chorus & organ
1 02:57 Amazon
2 02:48 Amazon
3 03:07 Amazon
4 01:11 Amazon
5 00:50 Amazon
6 02:13 Amazon
7 04:00
8 04:57
9 03:56 Amazon
10 06:13 Amazon
11 04:16 Amazon
Magnificat for soloists, chorus, 2 violins, viola & continuo in D major
12 02:23 Amazon
13 01:00 Amazon
14 04:08 Amazon
15 01:28 Amazon
16 02:34 Amazon
17 04:49 Amazon
18 00:37 Amazon
19 01:00 Amazon
20 02:28 Amazon
21 01:30 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick