Various Artists

Adagio Paradiso: Romantic Movie Themes for the Lover in You

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is the sixth release in a new series of beautiful lovelorn recordings from the RCA Red Seal imprint. The goal seems to be capturing the emotion and musical magic of 17 beloved films with new interpretations of their familiar themes or classical pieces from them. The liner notes by series compiler Peter Munves invites listeners to enter into a world of reverie where they can feel joyous, cry, whatever. In one sense, the movie memories evoked comprise a unique travelogue to exotic locales (Africa, Italy, England, France...Seattle) as it brings back memories by some of the most treasured modern film scorers (Henry Mancini, Ennio Morricone, Leonard Bernstein, James Horner) and classical composers (Puccini, Mozart, Bach, Rachmaninoff). Each song features a unique arrangement and a guest conductor or soloist. These include the Mancini Pops Orchestra ("Cinema Paradiso"); flutist James Galway ("My Heart Will Go On," from Titanic, "Unchained Melody" from Ghost, "Beauty and the Beast," Mozart's "Adagio ma Non Troppo" from Green Card); clarinetist Richard Stoltzman ("When I Fall in Love," from Sleepless in Seattle, "Philadelphia," Mozart's "Adagio" from Out of Africa); and the late, legendary guitarist Chet Atkins with the Boston Pops Orchestra conducted by Arthur Fiedler ("Scarborough Fair" from The Graduate).

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
Nuovo cinema paradiso, film score (aka Cinama Paradiso)
Titanic, film score
2 4:50
3 4:32
4 3:25
5 2:52
6 3:53
Beauty and the Beast, film score
8 3:11
Breakfast at Tiffany's, film score
9 3:45
10 3:09
La bohème, opera
Clarinet Concerto in A major, K. 622
13 3:13
La Rondine (The Swallow), opera
Gianni Schicchi, opera
Flute Concerto No. 1 in G major, K. 313 (K. 285c)
16 5:24
Concerto for 2 violins, strings & continuo in D minor ("Double"), BWV 1043
17 7:22
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Introduction and 24 Variations), for piano & orchestra in A minor, Op. 43
18 2:49
19 4:05
blue highlight denotes track pick