Marty Grosz / Mike Peters

Acoustic Heat: Jazz Guitar Duets

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Jovial, energetic, and uncommonly well-versed in traditional jazz, guitarist Marty Grosz is internationally recognized as a skilled improviser, resilient session man, and (on the live dates) witty MC. On Acoustic Heat, a compilation drawing upon his output during the years 1998-2005, he is heard in duets with East Coast guitarist Mike Peters, whose résumé includes recording dates with soprano saxophonist Bob Wilber, Californian flamenco-inspired guitarist Jim Stubblefield, and clarinetist Ken Peplowski, who is the guest soloist on Acoustic Heat. It is a surprisingly stimulating stash, stocked with six titles credited to jazz guitar pioneer Carl Kress and a series of compositions by equally important early jazz and swing guitarists Eddie Lang, Dick McDonough, Carmen Mastren, and Tony Mottola. The Sackville catalog is fairly bursting with excellent albums that resulted from the combined energies of inspired musicians, and Acoustic Heat is a glowing example of that dynamic. This is great music for freeway driving, weekend gardening, or immoderate consumption of food and drink among trusted friends.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:03
2 2:23
3 2:22
4 4:27
5 3:44
6 4:35
7 2:17
8 2:44
10 4:00
11 3:24
13 3:53
14 5:02
15 4:09
16 3:52
17 3:26
18 4:07
19 3:06
20 3:04
blue highlight denotes track pick