A Screw


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

A Screw Review

by Ned Raggett

Featuring the same lineup as the Greed album (and in fact recorded at the same sessions), this album -- much like the "Time Is Money" single -- features two differing mixes of the title track and another, wholly separate song. The "A Screw (Holy Money)" mix, so titled because it ended up on the Holy Money album shortly thereafter, has a particularly mechanistic percussion grind to it, along with some low-pitched guitar scrapes from Norman Westberg and a deep, low-voiced chant of "holy money" from Gira, ending in echoed percussion and electronically slurred vocals. The other mix has more clattering sounds and a full set of (unsurprisingly brutal) lyrics to distinguish it from the first. "Blackmail," meanwhile, is Swans' first wholly gentle piece (musically and lyrically) with an unexpectedly passionate Gira love lyric wonderfully sung by Jarboe -- in her debut turn at lead vocals -- over beautiful piano backing.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Swans Amazon
2 Swans Amazon
3 Swans Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick