A Santa Cause: It's a Punk Rock Christmas

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

A Santa Cause: It's a Punk Rock Christmas Review

by MacKenzie Wilson

A select bunch of punk rock tub-thumpers and emocore sweethearts come together for a holiday celebration of their own on the A Santa Cause: It's a Punk Rock Christmas collection. With a portion of the proceeds benefiting the Pediatric AIDS Foundation, this compilation plows through Christmas classics with style and offers a few new holiday treats from the likes of Acceptance, blink-182, Something Corporate, and A New Found Glory. A Santa Cause: It's a Punk Rock Christmas doesn't break tradition entirely, but reshaping such favorites for a younger generation is the biggest gift of all. The A.K.A.'s pay tribute to Jam Master Jay and get a little funky on Run-D.M.C.'s "Christmas in Hollis," while Matchbook Romance ("I'll Be Home for Christmas") and Gatsby's American Dream ("Christmas Time Is Here") make for sweet yet playful moments during this holy day hootenanny. If the Red West's "It Came Upon a Midnight Clear" doesn't warm your rock & roll heart, call yourself a Scrooge. A Santa Cause: It's a Punk Rock Christmas is a merry listen, and punk fans old and new will enjoy it.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 A.K.A.'s 03:38 SpotifyAmazon
2 Something Corporate 03:11
3 The Matches 03:29
4 blink-182 03:14 SpotifyAmazon
5 Far / Chino Moreno 03:44
6 Fall Out Boy 03:39
7 MxPx 02:22
8 From First to Last 03:32
9 Matchbook Romance 02:21 SpotifyAmazon
10 New Found Glory 03:34
11 Acceptance 04:04
12 Gatsbys American Dream 02:19
13 Jason Gleason 03:15
14 InMemory 02:20
15 The Mighty Mighty Bosstones 02:19
16 Standstill 02:54
17 The Beautiful Mistake 03:48
18 Punchline 03:22
19 Saosin 02:44
20 Red West 05:17
blue highlight denotes track pick