George Jones

A Picture of Me (Without You)/Nothing Ever Hurt Me (Half as Bad as Losing You)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On the back cover of Koch's two-fer reissue of A Picture of Me (Without You)/Nothing Ever Hurt Me (Half as Bad as Losing You), George Jones is quoted as saying: "I am so excited about the release of two of my all time favorite albums. I hope you enjoy every song contained on this special release." This is one of the rare times that the Possum's self-evaluation is entirely accurate, since these are two of Jones' very best records, albums that may still follow the pattern of singles-n-filler, but are of higher quality than many of his other albums, regardless of the era they were released. True, if you scan the track listing, only a few titles will pop out -- certainly the title tracks, but also "The Man Worth Lovin' You" and definitely "What My Woman Can't Do" -- but what makes these records remarkable is that the rest of the albums are comprised of material that is firmly solid. These are not classics, but they're good songs all the same and producer Billy Sherrill gives them a uniform, appealing production that makes them gel into something that's greater than the sum of their parts. And, when paired on this two-fer, they seem all the stronger -- they complement each other, with their professional production, fine songwriting, and passionate performances from Jones. So, even if this doesn't have a lot of classics in the traditional sense, it's essential listening for the dedicated George fan all the same.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:31
2 2:37
3 2:44
4 3:12
5 3:02
6 2:58
7 2:18
8 2:47
9 3:05
10 2:33
11 2:50
12 2:19
13 2:09
14 2:34
15 2:36
16 2:40
17 2:51
18 2:52
19 2:35
20 2:47
21 2:21
22 2:35
blue highlight denotes track pick