Tom Kubis

A Jazz Musician's Christmas

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Tom Kubis Big Band, featuring the leader's arrangements, performs a variety of Yuletide favorites on this cheerful and hard-swinging set. The music was originally released on a pair of Cexton LPs, so this is a Tom Kubis Christmas best-of collection. Two recent Kubis songs, "A Jazz Musician's Christmas" and a humorous version of "The Twelve Days of Christmas (My Agent Gave to Me)," which has new lyrics, feature the singing of Jack Sheldon, who also takes a pair of trumpet solos. Among the key soloists are Kubis (on soprano and piano), trumpeters Wayne Bergeron and Stan Martin, trombonist Andy Martin, and Pete Christlieb (who takes a tenor solo on "We Three Kings"), while Carol Jolin has vocals on "Let It Snow" and "Winter Wonderland." The music is conventional big-band hard bop, but expertly played and with enough variety to keep one's attention throughout. Recommended to fans of modern swinging big bands.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:01 Spotify
feat: Jack Sheldon
3:27 Spotify
3 2:35 Spotify
4 3:33 Spotify
5 3:27 Spotify
6 3:59 Spotify
7 3:11 Spotify
feat: Jeff Bunnell
5:09 Spotify
9 3:55 Spotify
10 2:31 Spotify
feat: Jack Sheldon
5:52 Spotify
12 2:58 Spotify
13 3:14 Spotify
14 7:07 Spotify
15 3:32 Spotify
feat: Carol Jolin
3:33 Spotify
17 1:54 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick