Frieder Bernius

A Cappella

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although it's hard to tell from the cover, this is a compilation of music from six discs by Germany's Kammerchor Stuttgart, under longtime conductor Frieder Bernius. It's a good pick for those interested in this 18-member a cappella group, or in unaccompanied choral music generally; the Stuttgarters must rank among the world's best mixed-gender adult choirs in the sheer consistency and suppleness of their vocal blend. The seven Mendelssohn psalm settings and small vocal works included here are drawn from the group's multi-disc complete recording of Mendelssohn's sacred music, and the works performed here are fine samples that illuminate a largely forgotten repertory and may inspire many buyers to go in search of the original recordings. Beyond Mendelssohn you get good examples of other aspects of the group's work: music by an unfamiliar composer (Gottfried August Homilius), some favorites of the later nineteenth century by Brahms, and some black-belt pieces from the end of the century: hear the tonal consistency at a punishingly high pitch of the Sanctus from Rheinberger's Cantus Missae, Op. 109 (track 13), and marvel. No original recording dates are given, but the recordings must span a considerable length of time; the choir has been in existence since the mid-'80s, and the Mendelssohn project alone involved 12 CDs. Given this, the remastering job is impressive; the sonic ambience is consistent and never less than clear and warm. The sole disadvantage here is that, although booklet notes -- with a detailed account from Bernius himself as to how you go about molding a group like this -- are given in German, English, and French, no texts are included; this is problematical especially in the case of lesser-known works like many of those recorded here.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 07:41 Amazon
2 03:34 Amazon
3 05:35 Amazon
4 03:54 Amazon
5 03:57 Amazon
Elijah (Elias), oratorio, Op. 70
6 02:17 Amazon
7 11:57 Amazon
8 03:11 Amazon
9 02:00 Amazon
10 05:07 Amazon
11 04:29 Amazon
12 11:30 Amazon
Mass for 8 voices in E flat major, Op. 109 "Cantus Missae"
13 02:06 Amazon
14 03:21 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick