Warne Marsh Quartet

A Ballad Album

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although there is a certain amount of tempo variation, this is largely a ballad showcase CD for tenor saxophonist Warne Marsh. With fine support from pianist Lou Levy, bassist Jesper Lundgaard and drummer James Martin, Marsh sounds quite lyrical on eight veteran standards including "I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby," "The Nearness of You" and "Emily." The CD reissue adds three alternate takes to the original program. Fine music that is both relaxing and (thanks to Marsh) somewhat unsettling under the surface.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:42
2 7:57
3 5:49
4 5:10
5 7:16
6 4:36
7 5:03
8 5:40
9 5:39
10 5:11
11 7:30
blue highlight denotes track pick