Louise Alder / Joseph Middleton

Lines Written During a Sleepless Night: The Russian Connection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Russian Connection named in the subtitle of this release by soprano Louise Alder is not some kind of Russian musical influence, but a Russian connection in Alder's life: her family came from Odessa, fled during World War I, and spoke all the languages represented on the album with the except for Swedish. This multinational group of songs, mostly not in the first language of the composers (Swedish, Sibelius' first language, is again one exception), is something of a tour de force on the part of Alder, who not only had to sing in different languages but to master various national styles of singing and song. She has been known for the lighter textures of Mozart and the like, but although she's no Galina Vishnevskaya, she manages the combination of strong and intimate in the Six Songs, Op. 38, of Rachmaninov. The four Sibelius songs, only two from a single set, are interesting in themselves, quite different in style from his early orchestral music of the same period. Alder shifts gears completely for the Seks Sange, Op. 48, of Grieg, in German despite their title, little masterpieces of delicate lyricism. The Six Mélodies, Op. 65, of Tchaikovsky, are in French, written for one of the composer's earlier backers, and they're in quite a different melodic mode from the two Medtner Goethe songs of a decade later, in German. The program concludes with settings by Benjamin Britten of poems by Pushkin in the original Russian, even though the composer did not speak that language (Vishnevskaya gave the works her seal of approval). The album takes its title from the last of these, and again Alder has a difficult balance to find here and strikes it admirably. With equally versatile accompaniment from Joseph Middleton, who suggested the program, and fine Potton Hall sound, this is an important release from a young soprano who is emerging as a major star.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Six Songs, Op. 38
1 01:51 Amazon
2 02:47 Amazon
3 02:28 Amazon
4 02:41 Amazon
5 03:22 Amazon
6 02:22 Amazon
7 01:39 Amazon
8 02:38 Amazon
9 03:04 Amazon
10 02:10 Amazon
Seks Sange, Op. 48 for Voice and Piano
11 01:08 Amazon
12 02:42 Amazon
13 01:38 Amazon
14 03:33 Amazon
15 02:59 Amazon
16 02:26 Amazon
Six Mélodies, Op. 65
17 01:44 Amazon
18 02:27 Amazon
19 02:11 Amazon
20 02:30 Amazon
21 03:05 Amazon
22 01:10 Amazon
23 01:49 Amazon
24 03:14 Amazon
The Poet's Echo, Op. 76 for High Voice and Piano
25 02:58 Amazon
26 01:33 Amazon
27 02:25 Amazon
28 03:51 Amazon
29 00:52 Amazon
30 03:56 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick