Jakub Józef Orliński

Facce d'Amore

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Countertenor Jakub Józef Orliński made a splash with his 2018 solo debut, Anima Sacra, consisting of sacred music. His much-awaited return moves to the secular field, which might seem to be less suited to his talents: he needs soaring melodies where beauty of tone is the thing, but the lower part of his range is at this time a bit underpowered. He makes the best of what he has, however. Orliński delves into the large remaining trove of unrecorded Baroque opera and comes up with Facce d'Amore (Faces of Love), that fit his voice. Several pieces here are world premiere recordings, and they're terrific; Baroque opera fans will want the album for the pieces by Luca Antonio Predieri alone. Giovanni Antonio Boretti's "Chi scherza con amor," from an opera called Eliogabalo, is great fun with its castanets, and Orliński also excels in more melancholy stuff. His Handel, on its own, will not yet win any prizes, but "Sempre a si vaghi rai" from the opera Orfeo of Johann Adolf Hasse, another world premiere, hits Orliński's sweet spot and suggests a strong ability to sustain a mood over a long aria. Orliński gets subtly restrained support from the historical-instrument group Il Pomo d'Oro under Maxim Emelyanychev on a program that shows an immensely talented singer setting himself new challenges.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
La Calisto
1 03:39 Amazon
2 02:57 Amazon
Claudio Cesare
3 01:04 Amazon
4 01:17 Amazon
La Nemica d'Amore fatta amante
5 03:14 Amazon
La Costanza non gradita nel doppio amore d'Aminta
6 05:17 Amazon
Pirro e Demetrio
7 02:04 Amazon
Agrippina, HWV 6
8 01:03 Amazon
9 04:51 Amazon
10 04:32 Amazon
Amadigi di Gaula, HWV 11
11 05:40 Amazon
Muzio Scevola, HWV 13
12 03:58 Amazon
Orlando, HWV 31
13 07:20 Amazon
Scipione il giovane
14 04:37 Amazon
15 07:10 Amazon
Don Chisciotte in Sierra Morena
16 04:09 Amazon
Scipione il giovane
17 06:20 Amazon
18 07:14 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick