Mischa Maisky / Lily Maisky

20th Century Classics

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Cellist Mischa Maisky, a student of Rostropovich and Piatigorsky, has had the pleasure in his later years of performing with his children, pianist Lily, and violinist Sascha. The music on this release, recorded live at a castle in the Bavarian city of Krün, features Lily Maisky and has the sense of ensemble that often enough comes with family groups. The program is just what the title promises, a set of 20th century works, short or composed of short movements, many of them in cello-and-piano arrangements. It has the marks of an album made for fans of a particular artist, and so it is in part. However, the work of Lily Maisky stands out. She cultivates a self-effacing style that diverges sharply from that of her father's, and it's distinctive and effective. As the program proceeds into a pair of works by Anton Webern, she's really haunting. Sample the miniature Three Little Pieces for cello and piano, Op. 11, by Webern. One hopes that some enterprising vocalist will snap her up as a song accompanist, for she has what it takes. In the CD release, those Webern pieces are followed by excerpts from Messiaen's Quatuor pour la fin du temps for a quietly ecstatic finale. A "bonus CD" featuring only Mischa Maisky and including an overdubbed Bachianas Brasileiras No. 1 and a new cello concerto of Benjamin Yusupov is also included; it adds little to the program and disturbs its continuity for streaming listeners. Nonetheless, a recommended release.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Sonata for Cello and Piano in C major Op. 65
1 08:38 Amazon
2 02:39 Amazon
3 06:19 Amazon
4 02:13 Amazon
5 02:38 Amazon
From Jewish Life
6 04:41 Amazon
Román népi táncok Sz. 56
7 01:20 Amazon
8 00:30 Amazon
9 01:37 Amazon
10 01:45 Amazon
11 00:32 Amazon
12 00:55 Amazon
13 04:09 Amazon
Romeo and Juliet Op. 64
14 02:29 Amazon
The Limpid Stream Op. 39
15 06:29 Amazon
Le Grand Tango
16 12:08 Amazon
Two Pieces
17 02:40 Amazon
18 02:17 Amazon
Three Little Pieces Op. 11
19 00:59 Amazon
20 00:21 Amazon
21 00:52 Amazon
Quatuor pour la fin du temps
22 07:15 Amazon
23 07:34 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick