Bojan Čičić / Illyria Consort

Giovanni Stefano Carbonelli: Sonate da Camera Nos. 7-12

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

There remains a great deal of Italian Baroque music to discover, and that of violinist-composer Giovanni Stefano Carbonelli is a case in point. A move from Italy to prosperous Britain was a popular career path: Carbonelli worked for Handel, concertized widely, and changed his name to John Stephen Carbonell. Much of his music has been lost, but a set of 12 violin sonatas survives and has been recorded by Baroque violinist Bojan Čičić and his Illyria Consort; this release, beginning with the seventh sonata, is a sequel to Čičić's 2017 set of the first six. Both are worthwhile and fit Čičić's effortless but somewhat cutting style beautifully. Here, however, you get several intriguing items if you're buying just one album. First is a concerto by Vivaldi, the Violin Concerto in B flat major, RV 366, known as "Il Carbonelli" and apparently written for the violinist to perform. Although there's plenty of music written for specific singers, that written for specific instrumentalists is rare in the Baroque, and Baroque lovers may want the album for this reason alone. Further, the sonatas show Carbonelli moving away from the example of Corelli, who was probably his mentor. They are called chamber sonatas (sonate da camara), but they include some fugues, which are external to that form, and the last one is a three-movement sonata more in the Vivaldi line. The church acoustic gives the instruments a nice silvery sound but is a bit remote; even the sonate da chiesa (church sonatas) by this time were not intended for performance in churches.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Concerto in B flat 'Il Carbonelli' RV 366
1 03:39
2 01:57
3 03:45
Sonata No. 7
4 02:43
5 03:55
6 01:27
7 03:01
Sonata No. 8
8 04:04
9 02:29
10 02:33
11 01:23
Sonata No. 9
12 03:19
13 02:08
14 00:39
15 02:28
Sonata No. 10
16 02:19
17 03:14
18 02:18
19 02:25
Sonata No. 11
20 02:08
21 03:24
22 01:33
23 02:45
24 02:18
Sonata No. 12
25 03:29
26 05:15
27 08:00
blue highlight denotes track pick