Gaechinger Cantorey / Hans-Christoph Rademann

Stay, ye angels: J.S. Bach Cantatas

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Germany's Gaechinger Cantorey is the group formerly known as the Gächinger Kantorei, one of the country's fabled small regional choirs. The respelling was not due simply to the German spelling reform but to the ascent of a new conductor, Hans-Christoph Rademann, and to a new emphasis on historical instruments (the Cantorey includes both singers and instrumentalists). The result is an interesting mix that stands out from other Bach cantata recordings (a substantial task). Rademann does not cut his choir down to one-voice-per-part dimensions, or even two; the Cantorey has four voices on each part, and it retains the rich, plummy sound of German choirs. However, the instruments have a considerably spikier texture that brings out Bach's responses to the text. These are mostly solo cantatas, and your mileage may vary with the soloists, some of whom follow the early-music pruning of vibrato, while others do not (to these ears alto Anke Vondung is the best of the group). There are borrowings from other works, which the listener may enjoy detecting. Sample the final cantata, Man singet mit Freuden vom Sieg, BWV 149, which gives you an intricate opening chorus as well as the final chorale. Another attraction is the work of organist David Franke, playing the small and very distinctive organ at the Stadtkirche St. Wenzel in Naumburg, which has an almost ringing sound. In all, if you're thinking this is just another Bach cantata recording, you would be wrong.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Es erhub sich ein Streit BWV 19
1 04:11
2 01:02
3 04:12
4 00:55
5 07:12
6 00:38
7 01:58
Gott soll allein mein Herze haben BWV 169
8 07:50
9 02:08
10 06:05
11 00:40
12 04:58
13 00:25
14 01:06
Der Friede sei mit dir BWV 158
15 01:48
16 06:50
17 01:30
18 01:10
Mann singet mit Freuden vom Sieg BWV 149
19 04:03
20 02:47
21 00:49
22 05:09
23 00:37
24 03:40
25 01:51
blue highlight denotes track pick