Various Artists

70's Flashback

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Double Play's 70's Flashback is a 20-song collection of original hits by the original artists that plays like an hour of solid gold AM radio from the kind of station that doesn't exist anymore, and if it did they would be taking it off the air for hours of political claptrap soon anyway. The songs are a satisfying mix of country-pop (Sammi Smith's salacious "Help Me Make It Through the Night," the Bellamy Brothers' "Let Your Love Flow"), disco (Silver Convention's "Fly Robin Fly," Disco Tex & the Sex-O-Lettes' "Get Dancin'"), pop ballads (Austin Roberts' "Something's Wrong With Me," Samantha Sang's "Emotion"), soft rock (Starbuck's "Moonlight Feels Right," Climax's "Precious and Few") and novelty songs (Walter Murphy's "A Fifth of Beethoven," Hot Butter's "Popcorn"). Among all the candy-floss is one of the all-time great soul ballads: Luther Ingram's "(If Lovin' You Is Wrong) I Don't Want to Be Right" to keep you honest. This is one of the better low-priced collections of under-the-critical-radar '70's pop you are likely to find.

blue highlight denotes track pick