7 Series Sampler: Every Six Seconds

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The limited-edition 7 Series release from Island repackages Saliva's debut, Every Six Seconds, in a condensed, seven-song format. Including as it does the singles "Click Click Boom," "Your Disease," and "After Me," one has to wonder what Island was thinking with this abbreviated edition. Sure, it's limited. But if it's meant to capitalize on fans swayed by Saliva's 2003 release, won't its purchase undercut the sales of the band's existing back catalog? What does Saliva think about five of its songs ending up on the cutting-room floor, after the tracks were deemed worthy enough for release? Island's 7 Series positions Saliva (as well as the rest of the artists receiving the treatment) as a pure commodity. But the label's final insult is reserved for the fans. The full-length Every Six Seconds LP retails for approximately 15 dollars. The 7 Series brevity edition? Ten dollars. The consumer gets less music for less money, but is really paying more than necessary for a flawed product.

blue highlight denotes track pick