The Apemen

7 Inches of Love: A Complete Collection of Singles and Compilation Tracks

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Apemen hail from the Netherlands and have been playing raw surf instrumentals since the early '90s. The 16 tracks on 7 Inches of Love were recorded between 1993 and 1994, previously released on compilation albums and as separate 7" singles which are now impossible to find: "Invasion of the Apemen," "Sounds of the Apemen," "Intoxica," and "El Tortura." Their brand of surf music is refreshingly more influenced by punk heroes like Agent Orange and JFA than the Beach Boys, Jan & Dean, or the Ventures. This is especially apparent on the few cover versions ("Squad Car," "Surf Party," "Miserlou") included on 7 Inches of Love. The Apemen immersed themselves (and their audience) in thriving timeless manic dance music and a complete lack to take anything, especially themselves, too seriously. This album is available from the Washington-based Double Crown label.

blue highlight denotes track pick