The Allman Brothers Band

40: 40th Anniversary Show Live at the Beacon Theatre [Video]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This video set finds the Allman Brothers Band playing the group’s first two records, the self-titled The Allman Brothers Band and Idlewild South, back-to-back and in their entirety on the 40th anniversary of the original lineup's first time playing together. Recorded and filmed at the Beacon Theatre in New York, a venue where the band had taken up an almost yearly multi-date residency for some two decades, the group for this historic performance included original members Gregg Allman (vocals, keyboards), Jaimoe (drums), and Butch Trucks (drums, tympani), along with latter day members Marc Quinones (congas, percussion), Warren Haynes (vocals, lead and slide guitar), Derek Trucks (slide and lead guitar), and Oteil Burbridge (bass), and guest spots from Boz Scaggs and Eric Clapton.