Ryoji Ikeda

20' to 2000

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This CD is Japanese composer Ryoji Ikeda's contribution to the 20' to 2000 series of minimalist electronica and noise, for which the label has won awards for its design and concept. What resembles a piece of computer hardware in its oblique package is in fact an album of equally discrete and alien music. Ikeda is best-known for his self-stylized computer music, which works as much on pulse and rhythm as it does upon the architecture in which it is played, using extreme contrasts of repetitive patterns in the high and low registers. At times, his music resembles Detroit techno -- were it stripped of all tonality and texture and reduced to the absolute essentials of pure tone and rhythm. Like the Finnish post-techno duo Pan Sonic, the sounds are like pure electricity. On the eight tracks here, Ikeda alters his formula somewhat, and presents short tracks that are less geometric than the detailed design of his +/- CD, the album that secured his place as one of Japan's greatest electronic musicians of the late '90s. On 20' to 2000, the untitled pieces are noisier with a more improvisational feel, and have a gritty quality more like Fennesz or Pita than the often sterile ambience associated with the glitch music movement.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 20:04 Amazon
2 10:51 Amazon
3 22:30 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick