1969: All-Star White House Tribute

Duke Ellington

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

1969: All-Star White House Tribute Review

by Ken Dryden

One of the undeniable highlights of President Richard Nixon's administration was the 1969 White House gala celebrating Duke Ellington's 70th birthday, though jazz fans waited 33 years for their release. The all-star band includes trumpeters Clark Terry and Bill Berry, alto saxophonist Paul Desmond, baritone saxophonist Gerry Mulligan, guitarist Jim Hall, trombonists J.J. Johnson and Urbie Green, pianist Hank Jones, bassist Milt Hinton, and drummer Louis Bellson. There are three medleys of Ellington hits, with a new soloist for each song, since each of the brass and reed players is individually featured with the rhythm section. The first medley showcases Desmond's whisper-soft solo in "Chelsea Bridge," Mulligan's lyrical take of "Sophisticated Lady," and the sauntering feature for the trumpeters of "Just Squeeze Me," which is wrapped by an extended workout of "In a Mellotone" that spotlights just about everyone. The lush miniature of "In a Sentimental Mood" makes one wish that Hall and Hinton had recorded additional duets together, while Mulligan's somewhat wild arrangement of "Prelude to a Kiss" may have caused Ellington to lift an eyebrow. Billy Taylor takes over at the piano for a brief trio medley, while liner-note writer Doug Ramsey, who was present for the affair, mentions that the maestro sat bolt upright when he heard Desmond's flawless impression of Johnny Hodges during "Things Ain't What They Used to Be," which also has enjoyable solos by Mulligan and Dave Brubeck. Earl Hines' rollicking interpretation of "Perdido" is a crowd-pleaser. Singer Virginia Mayo's selections are easily eclipsed by the better-known Joe Williams, especially his emotional delivery of "Heritage." Ellington himself finally takes over the piano for "Pat," a lovely (and likely improvised) ballad dedicated to Mrs. Nixon. This wonderful tribute to Duke Ellington is highly recommended.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Duke Ellington 02:39 Amazon
2 Duke Ellington 02:15 Amazon
3 Duke Ellington 02:06 Amazon
4 Duke Ellington 02:42 Amazon
5 Duke Ellington 01:51 Amazon
6 Duke Ellington 03:18 Amazon
7 Duke Ellington 01:00 Amazon
8 Duke Ellington 00:54 Amazon
9 Duke Ellington 00:55 Amazon
10 Duke Ellington 07:04 Amazon
11 Duke Ellington 01:55 Amazon
12 Duke Ellington 03:56 Amazon
13 Duke Ellington 02:16 Amazon
14 Duke Ellington 02:23 Amazon
15 Duke Ellington 01:56 Amazon
16 Duke Ellington 02:18 Amazon
17 Duke Ellington 04:28 Amazon
18 Duke Ellington 02:09 Amazon
19 Duke Ellington 03:33 Amazon
20 Duke Ellington 05:22 Amazon
21 Duke Ellington 03:45 Amazon
22 Duke Ellington 02:11 Amazon
23 Duke Ellington 02:38 Amazon
24 Duke Ellington 02:26 Amazon
25 Duke Ellington 02:28 Amazon
26 Duke Ellington 02:13 Amazon
27 Duke Ellington 01:56 Amazon
Duke Ellington 02:56 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick