Thelonious Monk


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first recordings ever issued under Thelonious Monk's name are presented as volume one in the Classics Thelonious Monk chronology. Although he'd been an active catalyst on the jazz scene for many years it wasn't until the autumn of 1947 that Monk was able to begin making records as a leader. These 20 Blue Note sides are uniformly excellent; each of the pianist's original compositions would soon begin to form a musical canon of strikingly creative works that would completely transform the ways in which jazz was conceived, structured, played, received and understood. During this period, Monk's groups included such vital players as Milt Jackson, Art Blakey, Shadow Wilson, Gene Ramey, Idrees Sulieman, Sahib Shihab and Ike Quebec's cousin Danny Quebec West. Monk's quartet session of July 2, 1948 features two pleasant vocals by Kenny "Pancho" Hagood. Note that "Evidence," based upon the chord progressions of "Just You, Just Me," was originally titled "Just Us." Legend has it that after he realized that the recording engineer had mistakenly written down "Justice," Monk decided that if he was going to court he'd be sure and bring along the Evidence.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:53 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:04 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:21 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:01 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:02 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:04 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:08 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:58 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:13 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:01 SpotifyAmazon
11 2:56 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:08 SpotifyAmazon
13 2:42 SpotifyAmazon
14 3:12 Spotify
15 3:00 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:02 SpotifyAmazon
17 2:34 SpotifyAmazon
18 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
19 3:08 SpotifyAmazon
20 2:44 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick