Erroll Garner


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This sixth volume of the complete recordings of Erroll Garner reissued in chronological order opens with eight sides recorded in Los Angeles for the Mercury label during the spring and summer of 1946. Only about two years into his recording career, Garner had developed into a master interpreter of ballads both soft and piquant. His own slightly eccentric "Frantonality" is a classic manifestation of Garner's habit of strutting his stuff using quirky twists and rambunctious turns of phrase. While drummers Nick Fatool and Lou Singer each interacted wonderfully with the pianist, bassist Red Callender's resonant tonalities really enhance the atmosphere, adding an extra dimension to each performance. On February 19, 1947, Garner made five beautiful records with Charlie Parker for the Dial label. "Trio" and "Pastel" -- which includes a fine bass solo by Callender -- were waxed at that same session with support from percussionist supreme Harold "Doc" West. In April of 1947 Garner dished out four solo recordings for the Victor label, beginning with two originals, "Erroll's Bounce" and a very attractive "Erroll's Blues." A few weeks later, Garner was invited back to the Dial studio to record eight tracks all by himself. This was to be the only solo piano session ever presented on Dial by that label's owner, Ross Russell.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:14
2 2:53
3 2:44
4 2:56
5 3:02
6 2:54
7 2:59
8 2:47
9 2:55
10 3:08
11 2:55
12 3:24
13 3:00
14 2:57
15 3:15
16 2:48
17 2:40
18 3:02
19 2:54
20 2:47
21 2:55
22 2:43
blue highlight denotes track pick