Various Artists

12 Inch Dance: '80s Groove

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

12 Inch Dance: '80s Groove, released by Rhino in the U.K., is a sharp, budget-priced compilation of club-oriented R&B, most of which was released during the decade's first half. Consisting of 30 tracks spread across three discs, it contains a fair balance of mainstream and cult favorites distributed by Warner. Most of the mixes here weren't included on the original albums. Among the more notable inclusions are Change's "The Glow of Love" (featuring Luther Vandross), the Fatback Band's "I Found Lovin'" (covered by Jeff Redd near the end of the decade), Rufus & Chaka Khan's "Ain't Nobody," the club edit of Sheila E.'s "The Glamorous Life," and Steve Arrington's "Feel So Real."

blue highlight denotes track pick