Peter Eötvös

Biography by

Hungarian composer Peter Eötvös' music is performed worldwide, especially his operas, and he has a significant career as a conductor of contemporary music.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Three Sisters, Opera Opera
Hommage à Kurtág, for chamber ensemble 1986 Chamber Music
Psy, for flute, cello & cimbalon (or piano, or harp, or marimba) 1996 Chamber Music
Kosmos, version for 2 pianos 1961 Keyboard
Jet stream, for trumpet & orchestra 2002 Concerto
Listening Guide to "Three Sisters" (spoken word) Miscellaneous (Classical)
Psalm 151, for percussion solo (in memoriam Frank Zappa) 1993 Chamber Music
Seven, for violin & orchestra 2006 Concerto
Dervish Danse, for solo clarinet 2001 Chamber Music
Shadows, for ensemble 1995 Orchestral
Derwischtanz, for clarinet 1993 Chamber Music
Cap-Ko, concerto for piano, electronic keyboard & orchestra 2005 Concerto
Két vers Pollynak (Two Poems to Polly), for a speaking cellist 1998 Chamber Music
Levitation, for 2 clarinets & orchestra 2007 Concerto Orchestral
Sonata per Sei, for 2 pianos, sampler & percussion 2006 Chamber Music
Un Taxi l'attend, mais Tchékhov préfère aller à pied (There's a Taxi Waiting for Chekhov, but He'd Rather Go on Foot), for piano 2004 Keyboard
Atlantis, for baritone, boy soprano, cymbalom, virtual choir & orchestra 1995 Choral
Music for New York, improvisation for soprano saxophone & percussion with tape 1971 Electronic/Computer Music
Tale 1968 Electronic/Computer Music
Cricketmusic, organized naturesounds 1970 Electronic/Computer Music
See All Compositions