Milton Babbitt

Biography by

Known primarily for his pioneering work with synthesized sound and serialism, Babbitt is a major figurehead of 20th century American music.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Philomel for soprano & tape 1964 Vocal Music
Ensembles for Synthesizer 1964 Electronic/Computer Music
It Takes Twelve to Tango for piano 1984 Keyboard
Piano Concerto No. 1 1985 Concerto
Cavalier Settings (4) for voice & guitar 1991 Vocal Music
None but the Lonely Flute, for flute 1991 Chamber Music
Beaten Paths, for marimba 1988 Chamber Music
Homily, for snare drum 1987 Chamber Music
All Set, for jazz ensemble 1957 Chamber Music
Playing for Time, for piano 1983 Keyboard
Soli e Duettini for flute & guitar 1989 Chamber Music
Correspondences for string orchestra & synthesized tape 1967 Orchestral
Reflections, for piano & synthesized tape 1975 Keyboard
Phonemena for soprano & tape Vocal Music
Partitions, for piano 1957 Keyboard
The Widow's Lament in Springtime, for voice & piano 1950 Vocal Music
Sheer Pluck for solo guitar Chamber Music
Whirled Series, for saxaphone & piano 1987 Chamber Music
Accompanied Recitative, serialized composition for soprano saxophone & piano 1997 Chamber Music
Post-Partitions, for piano 1966 Keyboard
See All Compositions