Elliott Carter

Biography by

Carter was a unique voice among 20th century American composers, moving from neo-classicism to serialism, writing in all genres.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Piano Sonata 1945 Keyboard
Night Fantasies, for piano 1980 Keyboard
Etudes (8) and a Fantasy, for woodwind quartet 1949 Chamber Music
A Symphony of Three Orchestras 1976 Symphony
Sonata for cello & piano 1948 Chamber Music
String Quartet No. 2 1959 Chamber Music
Double Concerto for harpsichord, piano & 2 chamber orchestras 1959 Concerto
Woodwind Quintet 1948 Chamber Music
Concerto for Orchestra 1969 Concerto Orchestral
String Quartet No. 3 1971 Chamber Music
Elegy, for string orchestra 1952 Orchestral
Sonata for flute, oboe, cello & harpsichord 1952 Chamber Music
Quintet for piano & winds 1991 Chamber Music
The Minotaur, ballet in 2 scenes, for orchestra 1947 Ballet
Symphony No.1 1942 Symphony
Poems (3) of Robert Frost, for mezzo-soprano (or baritone) & small orchestra (or piano) 1942 Vocal Music
Riconoscenza (Per Goffredo Petrassi), for violin solo 1984 Chamber Music
Esprit Rude / Esprit Doux, for flute & clarinet 1985 Chamber Music
Gra, versions for clarinet or trombone 1993 Chamber Music
Scrivo in Vento, for flute 1991 Chamber Music
See All Compositions

Photo Gallery

See All Photos

Artists Moods