Christof Migone


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Vex, Christof Migone's second CD, is a cycle of three works, three 20-minute suites each inspired by a "shadow" (the composer's word) and created with the help of a friend. "Marche Arrière" ("Reverse") is inhabited by the ghost of French composer Erik Satie and features percussionist Michel F. Côté. "Cris-Cris" was inspired by French writer Antonin Artaud and created with the help of Gregory Whitehead. "Corps dans le Vide" ("Bodies in Emptiness"), a collaboration with Louis Ouellet, is impregnated with the philosophy of Gilles Deleuze. Each suite is divided into short interlocking segments (nothing over four minutes), a technique Migone displayed on his previous album Hole in the Head. The sound collages mostly use voices, as well as electro-acoustic and electronic sounds, alternating in the form of a cut-and-paste. The composer's fascination with speech puts a new dress on: instead of accidental speech, he now uses excerpts from the featured ghost's body of works to weave enigmatic strings of meaning into his piece. "Marche Arrière" is the more lighthearted of the three, while "Corps dans le Vide" gets very close to aural claustrophobia. All three have a more abstract construction, a less visceral delivery than Hole in the Head, but they feature a wider palette of sounds and techniques. It should be noted that the collaborators' input did not leave a remarkable stamp: Migone's touch remains the strongest one everywhere on this album.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:48
2 2:04
3 1:37
4 0:37
5 2:49
6 3:52
7 0:24
8 2:30
9 1:57
10 1:00
11 1:59
12 4:03
13 1:08
14 1:17
15 3:08
16 1:03
17 2:35
18 4:17
19 3:15
20 0:41
21 5:13
22 2:00
23 2:12
24 2:45
25 1:00
26 4:25
blue highlight denotes track pick