Caroline Herring


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

There's a moment on the third track of Twilight when the listener realizes he or she's listening to something special. "Devil Made a Mess," in fact, has just about everything that the average country hit doesn't: It's tuneful, has a well-crafted lyric, and the singer never overdoes the vocals. Caroline Herring is joined by several great musicians, including steel player Lloyd Maines, fiddler Eamon McLoughlin, and, on several cuts, newgrass luminary Peter Rowan. Whether singing country or folk, Herring seems determined to offer discerning versions of her self-penned material. Her penetrating vocals, deep and rich, deliver the emotional goods on "Standing in the Water" and "Delta Highway." The arrangements and production go a long way toward showing this material in the best light. No more than a guitar and voice are needed to deliver the simple "Whippoorwill," while a fiddle and pedal steel embellish the rolling "Learning to Drive." Call it country-folk. Also call it pretty darn impressive, because Twilight is Herring's debut. The album winds up with a cover of "Wreck on the Highway," a particularly gruesome religious song, with whisky, blood, and glass all over the highway, that perfectly captures the spirit of older country music. This is simple, honest music that is occasionally referred to as "authentic," meaning, sadly, that the local country station will probably not play it. Luckily, one can just go out and buy a copy. Twilight will please fans of classic country and it shouldn't be missed.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:04 Amazon
2 3:57 Amazon
3 4:19 Amazon
4 3:10 Amazon
5 5:01 Amazon
6 2:59 Amazon
7 3:32 Amazon
8 2:40 Amazon
9 3:30 Amazon
10 4:11 Amazon
11 3:59
blue highlight denotes track pick