Various Artists

True People: The Detroit Techno Album

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

True People is the Detroit compilation, a two-disc set of new tracks by each major producer in the scene, from originators Derrick May, Juan Atkins, Kevin Saunderson, Blake Baxter and Eddie Fowlkes to '90s stalwarts Claude Young, Stacey Pullen, Kenny Larkin, Drexciya, Keith Tucker, the Suburban Knight, Alan Oldham, Anthony "Shake" Shakir and more. Though a retrospective collection may have worked better than a set of all-new material, the incredible consistency sustained throughout the album testifies to Detroit's continuing vitality as the center for American techno. Among many highlights, the best come from Juan Atkins (a drum'n'bass workout recorded with 4 Hero), the Suburban Knight (a remix of his classic "The Art of Stalking") and Stacey Pullen ("8th Wonder").

blue highlight denotes track pick