Various Artists

Trucker's Jukebox, Vol. 4 [Universal]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Trucker's Jukebox was a Columbia series until 1995, when MCA Special Products used the title for a similar series of collections. MCA's series downplayed the outlaw country and bluegrass in order to concentrate on both traditional and contemporary honky tonk, which is unfortunate because the Columbia's blend of artists was grittier and felt more like classic truck-driving music. Still, there are a few good things on the ten-track Trucker's Jukebox, Vol. 4, including Patsy Cline's "She's Got You," Merle Haggard's "I'm Always on a Mountain When I Fall," Brenda Lee's "I'm Sorry," Conway Twitty's "I'd Just Love to Lay You Down" and Tanya Tucker's "Here's Some Love," which make it a worthwhile budget-priced collection.

blue highlight denotes track pick