Jonny Polonsky

There Is Something Wrong with You

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The six-song There Is Something Wrong With You delivers the promise of Jonny Polonsky's 1996 debut, Hi My Name Is Jonny. The power pop on the opening track, "Freezed," is followed by the scorching pop/rock of "Long Gone" and the bittersweet anthem "There Is Something Wrong With You." The guitar mayhem on "Roll On" is a prime example of Polonsky's straightforward rock approach to songwriting. A rousing throng of vocalists join in as the song nears its plateau before sputtering to a quick ending. The disc ends with the enchanting ballad "You Are My Star," which ends with Polonsky repeating the chorus repeatedly while the instruments rise and fall. In the end the music is infectious, shining with crisp production and dazzling vocals. For the album, Polonsky recruited bassist Solomon Snyder and drummer Josh Freese. Guest musicians include Greg Suran, Joe Cassidy, and Ken Sluiter. Eggbert Records released the disc in 2001.

blue highlight denotes track pick