Simple Minds

Themes, Vol. 2: August 82-April 85

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The second box dedicated to compiling Simple Minds' Themes series -- i.e., dolled-up reissues of the group's original 12" singles -- covers August of 1982 through April of 1985, which means that the A-sides originate from the New Gold Dream and Sparkle in the Rain albums. Though only "Promised You a Miracle" (found on Themes, Vol. 1) managed to crack the Top 70 of the U.S. club chart, it carried New Gold Dream to a similar position on the album chart. The album rightfully fared much better in the group's home country, aided by the previously mentioned hit and "Someone Somewhere (In Summertime)," the scope-widening introduction to the album, and another stellar A-side. Sparkle in the Rain, despite carrying a couple spare flashes of light, was a turn for the overambitious worse. These Themes boxes were obviously made with the collectors in mind, and it's only those people who will have any need for them. Extended versions of "Don't You (Forget About Me)," "Waterfront," "Speed Your Love to Me," and "Up On the Catwalk" are featured, along with B-side spots filled out with album cuts and the odd live performance.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
4:57 Amazon
6:52 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 3

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
5:50 Amazon
2 5:56 Amazon
4:21 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 4

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
7:29 Amazon
2 3:59 Amazon
4:35 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick