Elvis Presley

The Top Ten Hits

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Top Ten Hits is exactly what it says it is -- every Top Ten hit that Elvis Presley ever had during the course of his career, from "Heartbreak Hotel" in 1956 to "Burning Love" in 1972. Even though this double-disc set covers a lot of ground, there's a huge amount of terrific material that isn't included on the compilation. There's none of his Sun recordings, none of his gritty blues, none of his gospel, precious little of his country recordings, and many great singles for RCA aren't included. Still, the 38 songs on The Top Ten Hits are absolutely first-rate -- there's no arguing with "I Want You, I Need You, I Love You," "Don't Be Cruel," "Hound Dog," "Love Me Tender," "Love Me," "All Shook Up," "Jailhouse Rock," "One Night," "A Fool Such as I," "(Marie's the Name) His Latest Flame," "Can't Help Falling in Love," "Little Sister," "Return to Sender," "Suspicious Minds," and many, many others. It's the perfect way to start an Elvis collection and, for many casual fans, the only set to own.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:06 Spotify
2 2:37 Spotify
3 2:14
4 2:02 Spotify
5 2:44 Spotify
6 2:42 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:31 Spotify
8 1:57 Spotify
9 1:48 Spotify
10 2:28 Spotify
11 2:48 Spotify
12 1:52 Spotify
13 2:14 Spotify
14 1:53 Spotify
15 2:32 Spotify
16 1:49 SpotifyAmazon
17 2:29 Spotify
18 2:03 Spotify
19 2:16 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick