John Fahey

The Legend of Blind Joe Death

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The saga of Blind Joe Death is an extremely confusing one, for those listeners who haven't been following Fahey's career from the beginning. In short: Fahey originally recorded Blind Joe Death in 1959, in an extremely rare, self-released edition of less than 100 copies. Though few heard it, his debut album was a groundbreaker on the acoustic folk scene in its unusually experimental approach to blues and folk styles, though its innovations sound relatively tame when compared to the best of Fahey's subsequent work. Fahey reissued the album in 1964 on Takoma, re-recording some of the cuts, and dropping one selection ("West Coast Blues"). In 1967, when the album was issued for the stereo market, Fahey re-recorded the entire album from scratch, resulting in performances of the exact same new material, but with improved fidelity and technique. This reissue does us all a mammoth favor by combining the 1964 and 1967 editions of the album (which, to make matters more confusing, bore the exact same catalog number, Takoma 1002) onto one 75-minute disc. A previously unreleased 1964 version of "West Coast Blues," a song which had been on the 1959 edition of Blind Joe Death but was left off subsequent configurations, is added as a bonus cut. Completists should note that this is not the final word in the Blind Joe Death saga. Several of the versions originally presented on the 1959 album that were re-recorded for both the 1964 and 1967 remakes are still absent, for space reasons and because the compilers themselves feel that the later renditions are notably superior. Still, it's a near-definitive package of the important Blind Joe Death material, with extensive historical liner notes explaining the circumstances that gave rise to its various incarnations.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 5:07 Spotify
2 4:53 Spotify
3 3:12 Spotify
4 3:23 Spotify
5 3:20 Spotify
6 2:21 Spotify
7 4:05 Spotify
8 3:32 Spotify
9 3:05 Spotify
10 3:56 Spotify
11 3:15 Spotify
12 2:23 Spotify
13 2:22 Spotify
14 2:05 Spotify
15 2:43 Spotify
16 3:58 Spotify
17 4:39 Spotify
18 2:33 Spotify
19 1:24 Spotify
20 10:36 Spotify
21 1:25
blue highlight denotes track pick