Lambert, Hendricks & Ross

The Hottest New Group in Jazz [Compilation]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The immortal vocal jazz group Lambert, Hendricks & Ross recorded five albums during its career: one apiece for Impulse! and World Pacific and three for Columbia. This two-CD set has all of the music from LH&R's Columbia dates (The Hottest Group in Jazz, Sing Ellington, and High Flying), plus four previously unissued and three very obscure selections. Dave Lambert, Jon Hendricks, and Annie Ross were all very talented jazz singers as individuals, and were masters of vocalese. Virtually every one of their performances was special and, in the long run, influential. With assistance from the Gildo Mahones Trio, trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison (on the earliest album), and altoist Pony Poindexter (during the seven bonus tracks), the vocal group is heard in memorable form throughout the two-fer. Among the many highlights are "Twisted," "Cloudburst," Hendricks' hilarious "Gimme That Wine," "Everybody's Boppin'," "Cotton Tail," "All Too Soon," "Main Stem," "Farmer's Market," "Cookin' at the Continental," "Halloween Spooks," and "Popity Pop." Essential music for all serious jazz collections.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:21
2 2:37
3 2:19
4 3:19
5 2:18
6 2:29
7 3:00
8 3:50
9 1:46
10 4:13
11 2:58 Amazon
12 3:29 Amazon
13 1:20 Amazon
14 3:11 Amazon
15 2:56 Amazon
16 3:31 Amazon
17 2:50 Amazon
18 2:35 Amazon
19 3:01 Amazon
20 3:31 Amazon
21 2:34 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick