Bob Marley / Bob Marley & the Wailers

The Gold Album

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

So ubiquitous are Bob Marley & the Wailers compilations, drawn as they virtually all are from the same mass of recordings the band did in the late '60s/early '70s, that one barely glances at them anymore. And here is yet another one, a thin offering of Lee Perry productions, recycling the same hits and faves for the umpteenth time and tossing in a sole contribution from producer Leslie Kong, inevitably "Soul Shakedown Party," to mix it up a wee bit. But wait, there's a 13th track: "Stir It Up." How did that get on here, and which version is it? In fact, it's not the Wailers' own self-produced single, but a recording of a solo Marley with guitar in hand that was captured for posterity in Stockholm, Sweden, in 1971. The question is, do you want to plunk out for that alone, because anyone who actually cares to hear this is guaranteed to already have everything else on the set. For collectors only, although new kids on the block will enjoy this compilation as well. It's a strong enough set, even if well reproduced elsewhere.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:40
2 2:59
3 3:07
4 2:14
5 2:02
6 2:11
7 2:41
8 3:05
9 4:30
10 3:04
11 2:29
12 3:29
13 3:43
14 2:48
15 2:22
16 2:09
17 2:12
18 3:29
19 5:36
20 2:18
blue highlight denotes track pick