Tech N9ne / Tech N9ne Collabos

The Gates Mixed Plate

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Arriving just 15 months after his last collabos album (Sickology 101), nine months after his last official album (K.O.D.), four months after a remix EP (The Lost Scripts of K.O.D.), and probably just days after he got off one of his never-ending tours, the high-quality Gates Mixed Plate finds eccentric rapper Tech N9ne in the “prolific” category, but not the “overly prolific” category. If that doesn’t seem like a feat, take into consideration that there are no less than 21 quality tracks included here and Tech himself goes hard the whole way, even when he could coast on the skills of all his collabo partners. Top it off with one of Tech’s few solo tracks, the party-starter “O.G.,” being the supreme highlight and the man’s ability to churn it out is nothing if not impressive. Plus he’s cool enough to drop a Zapp reference (“Get her hot and ready/Listening to Roger Troutman”) and smart enough to return to some good-time music after the great but horribly dark K.O.D. All that said, his collabos series is comprised of very loose albums when compared to his normal releases, so give it a try once you’ve checked his regular output.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 0:16 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:17 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:59 SpotifyAmazon
4 4:13 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:58 SpotifyAmazon
6 4:12 SpotifyAmazon
7 5:17 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:49 SpotifyAmazon
9 0:12 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:10 SpotifyAmazon
11 4:09 SpotifyAmazon
12 4:22 SpotifyAmazon
13 4:19 SpotifyAmazon
14 0:12 SpotifyAmazon
15 4:01 SpotifyAmazon
16 0:22 SpotifyAmazon
17 4:13 SpotifyAmazon
18 4:38 SpotifyAmazon
19 4:01 Amazon
20 4:51 SpotifyAmazon
21 4:48 Amazon
22 3:40 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick