The Everly Brothers

The Essential Cadence Singles

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Following some early country-styled recordings for Columbia Records that didn't exactly play to their vocal strengths, Don and Phil Everly moved on to Cadence Records, where they added some pop sheen to their Appalachian-derived harmonies and, thanks to a Boudleaux and Felice Bryant song that cruised along on a shave-and-a-haircut rhythm, had a massive hit in 1957 with "Bye Bye Love," the first of several hits the brothers would score for Cadence in the next three years before departing for Warner Bros. in 1960. Working with producer Archie Bleyer and veteran Nashville session players like Chet Atkins at Cadence, the brothers perfected a striking and influential hybrid of country, early rock & roll, and pop. This anthology collects the key tracks from their stay at the label, including "Bye Bye Love," "Wake Up Little Susie," "All I Have to Do Is Dream," "Bird Dog," "('Til) I Kissed You," and "Devoted to You." There are collections of the Everly Brothers on the market that tell a more complete story than this one, but the strength of their legacy was built during the Cadence years of the late '50s, which means this set has the heart of it, including several marvelous Bryant songs.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:24
2 2:17
3 2:06
4 2:16
5 2:08
6 2:21
7 2:14
8 2:17
9 2:25
10 1:59
11 2:07
12 2:28
13 2:11
14 2:20
feat: Don Everly
16 2:38
17 2:05
18 2:18
19 2:04
20 2:17
21 3:37
blue highlight denotes track pick