Dean Martin

The Door Is Still Open to My Heart/(Remember Me) I'm the One Who Loves You

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Since The Door Is Still Open to My Heart was Dean Martin's seventh Reprise album and (Remember Me) I'm the One Who Loves You his ninth, one may reasonably ask why Collectors' Choice Music didn't pair the former with his eighth album, Dean Martin Hits Again, instead. The answer is simple. Reprise was not above repeating tracks from one album to another, and when "You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You" jumped from The Door Is Still Open to My Heart into the Top 40, the label put it on Dean Martin Hits Again too, so if CCM had combined those two albums, it would have been on the CD twice. As it is, the two albums still have many similarities. The Door comes from a period when Reprise was still scrambling to keep up with the demand for Martin product deriving from his comeback hit, "Everybody Loves Somebody"; the album is a catchall, even containing some songs recycled from Dean "Tex" Martin Rides Again. (Remember Me) I'm the One Who Loves You, on the other hand, finds Martin's producer, Jimmy Bowen, and his arranger, Ernie Freeman, looking beyond the formula they had found with "Everybody Loves Somebody" and giving Martin what the liner notes called an "updated country-pop sound" in which he covers everything from Roger Miller's "King of the Road" (an inspired choice for the freewheeling Martin style) to Jewel Akens' "The Birds and the Bees." This isn't really country music, but it borrows heavily from the Nashville sound of Eddy Arnold and Jim Reeves. Yet it's Martin himself who really makes it work. Somehow, unlike his Las Vegas peers, he manages to sound at home in any musical style he tries, and this country-pop approach suits him well.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:54
2 2:50
3 2:32
4 2:48
5 2:10
6 2:24
7 2:45
8 2:50
9 2:59
10 1:59
11 2:45
12 2:38
13 2:28
14 2:25
15 2:21
16 2:56
17 2:31
18 2:09
19 2:43
20 2:46
21 2:45
22 3:19
23 2:37
24 2:42
blue highlight denotes track pick