Jimmy Witherspoon

The Definitive Black & Blue Sessions

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Including some of Jimmy Witherspoon's finest performances, the Definitive Black & Blue Sessions is a handsomely compiled 14-track set of Witherspoon's tenure with bandleader Panama Francis. Often neglected in the artist's impressive body of work, the release of this disc calls for a reappraisal. Although nearing the end of his career, Witherspoon is in fine voice, and his work on "Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child," in particular, is astonishing. Panama Francis' Savoy Sultans provide fine musical accompaniment, intuitively knowing when to hold back and when to dominate. As befits such great music, the disc is handsomely annotated and packaged.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:50 Amazon
2 7:10 Amazon
3 3:55 Amazon
4 4:45 Amazon
5 6:21 Amazon
6 5:19 Amazon
7 4:40 Amazon
8 3:21 Amazon
9 3:18 Amazon
10 3:10 Amazon
11 3:55 Amazon
12 3:23 Amazon
13 3:09 Amazon
14 4:34 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick