Trans-Siberian Orchestra

The Christmas Trilogy

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In 2004, Trans-Siberian Orchestra finished their "Christmas trilogy" with the massive -- some would say ponderous -- The Lost Christmas Eve. Wasting none of the holiday season's precious shopping time, the Christmas Trilogy box set landed two weeks after that album, giving the band's loyal fan base a set to give -- some would say inflict -- to their friends. Then again, maybe they'll just want to hold on to the set since there's a DVD with appearances by Jewel and Michael Crawford and the lavishly illustrated booklet includes all the lyrics and background stories. You really should dabble in Trans-Siberian's dramatic, huge world of Christmas music through the eyes of classic rock before laying down the money for the set. If you just need a bit of this 60-piece, the first album is the most inspired, but it's not enough for most who get hooked. Although the next two albums gave diminishing returns, Trans-Siberian producer/mastermind Paul O'Neill kept pouring his heart into the music and always offered some genuine thrills. Great presentation and a packed DVD make up for a lot of note-spinning on the third disc, and what was a wintry night made for besides curling up with a precious, hope-filled story, no matter how cumbersome?

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:32 Amazon
2 5:33 Amazon
3 3:54 Amazon
4 3:05
5 3:25 Amazon
2:13 Amazon
0:42 Amazon
8 3:11 Amazon
9 4:18 Amazon
2:16 Amazon
3:47 Amazon
13 2:51 Amazon
14 3:09 Amazon
15 2:01
3:42 Amazon
17 4:52 Amazon
18 1:04 Amazon
19 5:57 Amazon
21 5:02 Amazon
22 2:44 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick