Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin

Tape Club

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Limited to 3,000 copies, Tape Club is a compilation of Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin's B-sides and demos in unreleased versions that range from polished studio recordings of the full band in action to rough solo takes on acoustic guitar. In the Midwestern indie pop group's downtime between 2002 and 2011, the trio (or sometimes quartet) recorded often. In fact, the 26 songs on the compilation were handpicked from over a hundred, hinting that they must have been of high caliber to have been considered. They are. Fans of the simple and true will appreciate “Spinning Sea” and “Let’s Get Tired” from the early years, or the warm Shins and Deerhunter qualities of the “Phantomwise” and “Back in the Saddle” demos, which would later make it onto Let It Sway. Imperfections and all, the small basement or bedroom environments and accompanying tape hiss feel better suited to the band than the flashy sheen of its full-lengths. A chronological ordering gives a sense to the band’s progress, a definite perk, but the big payoff with Tape Club is that it offers a chance to see through to the heart of SSLYBY's songs and realize how charming they can be without the big-league production.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:52 SpotifyAmazon
2 2:14 SpotifyAmazon
3 2:02 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:16 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:25 SpotifyAmazon
6 1:19 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:11 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:58 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:10 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:37 SpotifyAmazon
11 2:17 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:02 SpotifyAmazon
3:42 SpotifyAmazon
4:50 SpotifyAmazon
15 2:12
16 2:45 SpotifyAmazon
17 2:06 SpotifyAmazon
18 2:24 SpotifyAmazon
19 3:03 SpotifyAmazon
20 1:34 SpotifyAmazon
21 1:08
22 2:27 SpotifyAmazon
23 2:37 SpotifyAmazon
3:42 SpotifyAmazon
4:57 SpotifyAmazon
26 3:10 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick