Sarah Vaughan / Sarah Vaughan & Her Trio

Swingin' Easy

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Swingin' Easy is one of Sarah Vaughan's lesser known albums for Emarcy, combining two separate trio sessions from 1954 and 1957. The earlier date includes pianist John Malachi (who also worked with singers like Dinah Washington, Billy Eckstine, and Al Hibbler, plus bassist Joe Benjamin and drummer Roy Haynes. Vaughan's lush ballad technique is in full force in "Lover Man," "Polka Dots and Moonbeams," and "Body and Soul," while she scats in a midtempo setting of "If I Knew Then (What I Knew Now)" and her own "Shulie a Bop." The second trio include pianist Jimmy Jones, bassist Richard Davis, and Haynes. Aside from a brisk, miniature treatment of "Linger Awhile" and a playful setting of "I Cried for You," the session is highlighted by a breezy "All of Me." Vaughan is in terrific form throughout both dates, with the songs mostly running around the three-minute mark.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:42 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:19 SpotifyAmazon
3 1:42 SpotifyAmazon
4 2:36 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:18 SpotifyAmazon
6 4:35 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:48 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:03 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:07 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:33 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:15 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:44 SpotifyAmazon
13 1:00 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick