Les Brown

Sweetest Sounds

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In between getting his start as a bandleader in the early '40s and helping to start the Recording Academy in 1959, Les Brown made his name as one of the best-loved practitioners of the smooth big band sound. No layered or beard-stroking arrangements รก la Stan Kenton and Duke Ellington for Brown; he swung for the charts and sock-hop lovers across the country. With the hugely successful hit "Sentimental Journey," Brown's mid-'40s girl singer Doris Day cemented the band's place atop the jazz-pop heap. Later, Brown would avoid the '50s route of many a defunct big band by working extensively with Bob Hope. During this time, Brown's band continued releasing records, including this fine collection featuring Rosemary Clooney. On the heels of her own rise to fame, via novelty fare like "Mambo Italiano" and "Come on-a My House," Clooney shines here on chestnuts like "How Am I to Know," "Sleepy Time Gal," and "I Get Along Without You Very Well." Augmenting several vocal cuts, the band turn in some top-flight instrumentals, including "Man With a Horn," "My Romance," and "Little Brown Jug." A fine title for both Brown and Clooney fans.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:28
2 2:51
3 3:21
4 2:46
5 2:37
6 2:47
7 2:27
8 2:12
9 2:42
10 2:03
11 2:19
12 2:00
13 3:25
14 2:00
15 3:03
blue highlight denotes track pick