John Lennon

Sweet Toronto: Keep on Rockin' [Video/DVD]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The video counterpart to Live Peace in Toronto 1969, Sweet Toronto: Keep on Rockin' captures John Lennon & the Plastic Ono Band's performance at 1969's Sweet Toronto Peace Festival. Indeed, this was one of the first outings for the band -- which consisted of Lennon, Yoko Ono, Klaus Voorman, Eric Clapton, and Alan White -- and it shows in the set's rawness. In particular, Ono's challenging vocals define the edginess Lennon was looking for in order to separate himself from the Beatles, but his vibrant, defiant vocals on "Cold Turkey," "Money," and "Give Peace a Chance" accomplish the same goal with more listenability. The rough, in-your-face quality of the show's music is matched by the video's equally rough sound and audio quality. Still, fans would argue, the unpredictable, unrehearsed feel is precisely what makes Sweet Toronto: Keep on Rockin' so exciting.