Steve Roach


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Stormwarning is a series of live performances that truly takes you inside the creative storm that is Steve Roach's music or, as he's referred to it, the "sound current." Roach's Stormwarning consists of three different performances spanning a six-year period. The performances are arranged chronologically with the first one taking place in 1985, at almost the beginning of Roach's creative reign. This first track really reflects what Roach was doing at that time, with an opening of beautifully rich sonic atmospheres followed by a sequencer-driven army of languid rhythms and syncopated, Berlin School-styled pulses. The second track, recorded in 1989, starts off again with Roach's trademark atmospheres and then moves into the synchronous rhythms. The third track, a live performance from 1991, truly caps this excellent recording. It begins with some drifting ambiences and then fades into the sequenced rhythms -- but more subtly this time, and more in the background. Stormwarning is a fantastic recording. Each of the pieces that comprise Stormwarning paints a picture of a calm before the storm, as each piece evolves from a beautiful atmosphere to an almost chaotic snaking rhythm that grabs the listener. Stormwarning truly shows this gifted artist at work, and gives a rare insight into how masterfully Roach can create on the fly. This recording is a must have for any of fan of Steve Roach's music.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 21:29
2 30:51
3 21:31 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick